Time To Change – So Where Are We?

I mentioned before that the grind of my employment situation has been weighing heavily on me.  Those kinds of mental/emotional burdens have a profound effect on my weight loss.  Emotional eating, lack of inspiration or energy to follow through on the plan, just a general feeling of “Oh hell, why bother?” become obstacles to be overcome.  While it’s easy to identify the problem, it’s not as easy to overcome them.

The major shortcoming of the week was diet.  I ate relatively poorly and didn’t track it at all.  The major win of the week was in exercise.  Take a look at the numbers below.  Between active minutes and steps, I blew my goals overall out of the water.  Ideally, the steps would be 70,000.  But the Active Minutes goal is only 150!  So I would say I’m well over the top.

So I was a little disappointed that the weight didn’t move.  Then I thought about it.  On a week when my eating was less than optimal I held station at my current low weight.  Plus, my clothes were clearly looser on me, especially my belt.  I’ve never tracked inches simply because it’s so damn depressing.  On a week like this, it might tell me that I am still making progress.  When an exercise program gets goosed, it’s not unusual for the change to come in dimensions other than weight at first.  Obviously, my legs are getting a tremendous workout, and probably building some mass.

On the diabetes front, I have done very few blood glucose tests.  Which is bad, and not helpful and needs to change.  Generally, the numbers have been good.  There was one exception, I woke up and did a stick.  The number was 20 points higher than my usual for that time of day.  Why?  It took a while, but it occurred to me that I had forgotten to take my Metformin the night before (my usual time is after dinner).  Hmmm, that’s an easy fix.  But I need to make that part of my routine again.

So overall, it’s been a good week.  I rode twice, got lots of walking in.  I maintained my weight loss.  I would love for this to be the face of a “bad week” moving forward.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

Active Minutes – 321

Steps – 55,937

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

Biking Mileage – 26.0 miles  (2 rides)

Biking Total to Date – 83.78

I track my mileage with MapMyRide

The next milestone is getting back below 185.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

188.0 pounds

Weight Change this week: -0.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 16.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Bicycle, Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

