Time To Change – Still On The Learning Curve

What worried me turned out great, and what I thought would be great became a problem.

I’m still learning as I go.

First, the good news.  The semi-annual check-up with my Primary Care Physician went as well as any visit to the doctor in my life.  The test results were entirely positive.  A1C, DOWN!  In fact, I am no longer in the Diabetic range, but back to the Pre-Diabetic.  Still a long way to go, but continuing to improve.  Blood pressure was low.  On that front, the doctor is cutting me back from two hypertension meds to just one.  Good cholesterol up, bad cholesterol down.  Weight, even on the doctor’s scale (does your doctor’s scale seem to live in a different reality from the rest of your world?), was down.  Below 190 for the first time there.  There were two tests that showed upticks where you don’t want them.  Asked and discovered they will go up after a hard workout.  Like the day after a 40-mile bike ride!  So everybody was happy!

On the diabetes front, I discovered that I still have things to learn.  After the good physical, the plan was to hit the Capital2Capital bike trail for the full length, 51.91 miles.  I had done the 40-miler with no issues, the 15-mile ride early this week was a piece of cake.  I was going to crush this ride!

I cut the ride off at the 31-mile mark when my blood sugar seemed to be an issue.  Light headed, cold and clammy, trouble focusing mentally and slightly nauseous.  Some folks may note those are similar to dehydration.  The adage is “you can never drink enough water”, but I was drinking a lot and steadily.  I may not have been fully hydrated but I believe I was adequately hydrated.  I’ve been dehydrated and this felt different.  In doing some research, I had come across guidelines for keeping your body fueled on a long ride.  The recommendation was for hourly eating.  So I got sufficient bar-type things to keep in my riding jersey and ate on schedule.

Looking back and reading a little deeper I think I’ve found the problem.  I bought the riding food based on the same system I’ve been buying my daily eating.  High protein, low carb and as little added sugar as possible.  Those of you who do long workouts are probably nodding your head.  You see the issue.  Protein is great, but your body breaks it down slowly.  My body was screaming for fuel RIGHT NOW!  I need to focus on snacks that offer more carbs than normal eating would require.  Several folks have recommended dried apricots, a beloved snack that I’ve had to limit in daily eating.  So we’ll try again next week.  With better snacks.

The good news physical dropped some stress.  Still waiting to hear about this job.  Still need to expand the workouts.  Other than that, just gotta keep rolling.

Onward.

My resolution remains:

want to am going to be The Guy again.  The Guy weighed 175 pounds and looked good and felt good.  And his blood pressure was good and his blood tests were good.

Active Minutes – 393

Steps – 8,789 (forgot to wear it most of the week)

Watch my activity at my Fitbit page

Biking Mileage – 59.7 miles  (3 rides)

Biking Total to Date – 261.54

I track my mileage with MapMyRide

The next milestone is getting back below 185.  I will get there and go on.

Official Weigh In Weight

185.0 pounds

Weight Change this week: – 1.8 pounds

Total Weight Loss To Date: – 19.9 pounds

Goal Weight and Total to Lose – 175/25

Leave a comment

Filed under Bicycle, Diabetes, personal, Weight Loss

Leave a Reply

